Astronomy


Sun

Moon

Sun Moon age: 0 days, 12 hours, 45 minutes,0%
Sunspot Activity
data
DIY Sunspot Viewer
Sunset: 5:14pm
Sunrise: 7:26am
Daylight: 09:48
moon 0 illuminated - New Moon
Moonrise: 7:40am
Moonset: 5:53pm
New Moon


Sunspot Count for Last 30 Days
Sunspots last 30 days
Click for sunspot listing for the last 30 days
Graph courtesy: Newquay Weather
Sunspot Counts for this Year
Sunspots this Year
Click for sunspot listing for the current year
Graph courtesy: Newquay Weather
Yearly Sunspot Count since 1700
Sunspots since 1700
Click for yearly sunspot list since 1700
Graph courtesy: Newquay Weather
  Space Wx
Space Weather


First Quarter Moon Full Moon Last Quarter Moon New Moon
First Quarter Moon Full Moon Last Quarter Moon New Moon
Wed, 24-Jan-2018 5:20pm EST
24 January 2018 22:20 GMT
Wed, 31-Jan-2018 8:27am EST
31 January 2018 13:27 GMT
Wed, 07-Feb-2018 10:54am EST
07 February 2018 15:54 GMT
Thu, 15-Feb-2018 4:05pm EST
15 February 2018 21:05 GMT


Vernal Equinox
Start of Spring
Summer Solstice
Start of Summer
Autumn Equinox
Start of Fall
Winter Solstice
Start of Winter
Start of Spring First day of Summer First day of Fall First day of Winter
Tue, 20-Mar-2018 12:15pm EDT
20 March 2018 16:15 GMT
Thu, 21-Jun-2018 6:07am EDT
21 June 2018 10:07 GMT
Sat, 22-Sep-2018 9:54pm EDT
23 September 2018 01:54 GMT
Fri, 21-Dec-2018 5:23pm EST
21 December 2018 22:23 GMT

 


Astronomy Fact
When Galileo viewed Saturn for the first time through a telescope, he described the planet as having "ears". It was not until 1655 that Christian Huygens suggested the crazy theory that they might be an enormous set of rings around the planet.

Phenomenal FREE Planetarium software with Satellite Tracking Stellarium

Sky Forecast
Forecasts courtesy of: ClearSky and 7timer
Color Key            
Worse                          Better                          Best Sky (including Wind)
Worse                          Best                          Worse Ground


Stellar Neighbors

Click on any star for more details.
stars
Hyperphysics


Space Track-Satellite Passes

International Space Station View Look AnglesESV Ground Trace
Satellite Ground Trace courtesy: Heavens-Above.com
Bright Satellite List for your location.

Notes about viewing ESVs:
When using lookangles, choose passes with high magnitudes; less than 6.0. ("Looks" are local time.)
Best viewing is when ESV is in Earth's penumbra; on the map, it's the solid line during night.
Dotted line on map denotes ESV is dark, in Earth's umbra (shadow).
Objects in orbit have to maintain a speed of at least 17,500mph, therefore ESVs traverse the sky noticeably different than aircraft.
ESVs appearing to blink are either tumbling rocket bodies, or spinning payloads with deployed solar arrays.
High-Eccentricity objects have a more ellongated orbit. Ground trace looks like a backwards C.
Regression-Ground traces will move West with each orbit due to Earth's rotation.